The Mississippi Cosmetology Council Meeting 9/18/2016

The Mississippi Cosmetology Council held is semi-annual meeting Sunday, September 18, 2016.  The meeting was called to order by First Vice-President, Waylon Garrett at 1:02 p.m.  Council President, Glenda Honeycutt was absent from today’s meeting.

All associations were present with the required delegates.  For those of you who may be reading about the Mississippi Cosmetology Council for the first time, let me take a minute to give you a little background.  The Council was formed in the 1960’s as a liaison between the Cosmetology industry, Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology, and Legislatures. The following organizations make up the Council:  Mississippi Cosmetology Association, Mississippi Independent Beauticians Association, School Owners and Teachers Association, Mississippi Cosmetology School Association, and the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology Board members.  There are the five Cosmetology Board Members and then 5 delegates from each of the Associations. Of these 25 individuals, Council officers are elected and the officers are made up of 1 person from each Association and one Cosmetology Board Member.  These 25 individuals come together twice a year and work together to make recommendations for proposed legislative changes for the Cosmetology Industry. I currently hold the position as Council Second Vice President through the Mississippi Cosmetology School Association.

The following are the current Mississippi Cosmetology Council Members listed by the Association they represent:

Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology:  Waylon Garrett, Dorothy Ennis, Bertha Johnson, Glenda Honeycutt and Darlene Smith

Mississippi Cosmetology School Association:  Kathy Tollison, David Derrick, Misty Kidd, Andrea Butler and Melvin Calton

MS School Owners & Teachers Association:  Anita Jamison, Lascie Harper, Rouser Bechanon, Ida Thomas and Coretta Johnson

Mississippi Cosmetology Association:  Andrew Howard, Donald Vaughn, Reba Roy, Robin Carroll and Glenda Honeycutt

MS Independent Beauticians Association:  Theresa Barr, Dorothy Fears, Nell Woodard, Cynthia Kennedy and Rosetta Pickering

Council officers that were elected to server for 2017 and 2018 are:

  • Waylon Garrett- President  (MSBC)
  • Coretta Johnson- First Vice President (SOTA)
  • Melvin Calton- Second Vice President (MCSA)
  • Rosetta Pickering- Treasurer (MIBA)
  • Andrew Howard- Secretary (MCA)


This meeting was very productive as each association was given the task at our February meeting to bring recommendations for the upcoming legislative session.

The following recommendations were made on behalf of the Mississippi Cosmetology School Association:

  • Remove language from statute 73-7-1 “No member of the board shall be connected in any way with any school wherein cosmetology is taught”.
  • 73-7-11 add language “practitioner and instructor” for head shot photos instead of requiring for all licenses which include salon and school licenses.
  • 73-7-13 remove “an accredited and add a licensed” and to increase the barber crossover hours from 500 to 600 hours.
  • 73-7-16 remove “minimum competencies on an acceptable aptitude test” for requirements to enroll into a Cosmetology School to read as follows:  The board shall require all schools of Cosmetology to only admit students who have a 10th grade education or a high school diploma or it’s equivalency.
  • 73-7-15 to remove “an accredited and add a licensed” and to make a “uniformed 1000 hour instructor program for all courses…  Cosmetology, Esthetics and Manicurist.

The following recommendation were made on behalf of the School Owners and Teachers Association:

  • 73-7-14 proposed the following: Any person who hold a current, valid cosmetology, manicuring or esthetician licenses shall attend 5 hour of continuing education classes on tip of choice or sanitation, approved by the board, within each biennial renewal period..

These recommendations was accepted by the council and it now it’s in the hands of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology to work with the Legislators to get these recommendations into LAW!!!!

The Mississippi Cosmetology Council also inducts individuals into the the Mississippi Cosmetology Hall of Fame.  This meetings inductees are:  Martha Sue Bearden, Linda Kay Richardson, and Sue Gerberi..  Congratulations!!!!

2 Comment(s)

  • by Kathy Tollison Posted February 14, 2017 5:50 am

    Sunday council meeting is the 19th

    • by Melvin Calton Posted February 14, 2017 5:49 pm

      Yes, it is!!! See you there

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *